JD Cymru Premier

Newtown 4 Caernarfon Town 0

AARON Williams starred with a hat-trick as Newtown ruthlessly put Caernarfon Town to the sword at Latham Park on Saturday.

The Canaries arrived at Latham Park with a vociferous following which was largely silenced by the break as Williams ran riot.

An even start saw both sides trade blows with Louis Robles' lofted pass releasing Williams whose low shot was pushed around the post by Lewis Webb early on.

At the other end Sion Bradley saw plenty of early possession and almost forced a breakthrough when his right wing cross was only partially cleared only for Marc Williams to drill over the bar from the edge of the area.


Home goalkeeper Andy Wycherley was also forced into action to deny Zack Clarke after 30 minutes as the visitors pressed.

However the hosts broke the deadlock with five minutes left of the first-half with Robles releasing Matty Jones on the left to swing a cross for an unmarked Williams to steer home on the far post.

Newtown came close to doubling their lead with Robles cutting inside from the left to test Webb.

Newtown doubled their advantage before the break with Ryan Sears' accurate right wing cross chested down by Williams before volleying past Webb from 10 yards.

County Times: Ryan Sears celebrates his goal for Newtown against Caernarfon Town. Picture by Dave Evans.Ryan Sears celebrates his goal for Newtown against Caernarfon Town. Picture by Dave Evans.

It was all over with 20 minutes remaining after Henry Cowans regained possession in midfield to release Zeli Ismael who burst through before squaring for Williams to complete his hat-trick.

The Robins put a satisfying finishing touch to their emphatic win with five minutes remaining with Dominic Smith's throughball releasing Jason Oswell on the right whose accurate cross was volleyed home in style by an unmarked Sears from six yards.

Newtown: Wycherley, Sears (Taylor 89), Mills-Evans, Sutton, Evans (Hartley 68), Robles, Ismael (Roberts 90), Williams (Oswell 81), Cowans (Sharp 89), Jones, Smith. Subs: Ussher, Taylor.

Caernarfon: Webb, Cartwright, G Williams (Griffiths 71), Donohue, Bradley, Gosset, Davies (Wynne 75), M Williams, Maher (Faux 78), Clarke, Lloyd. Sub: Pritchard.