TNS 5 Cefn Druids 1

Greg Draper’s landmark four goals led the party for TNS as they swept aside Cefn Druids to clinch the JD Welsh Premier title.

Draper starred and was joined on the scoresheet by Tom Holland as TNS sealed a comfortable win to celebrate a 12th championship, and their seventh consecutive title.

The Saints led on seven minutes with Draper prodding home in his 100th goal for the club after Ryan Brobbel’s shot was deflected into his path.

The game continued to resemble a training session for the Saints who carved the Wrexham side open at will during a one sided first-half.

Aeron Edwards fired wide midway through the half before Ryan Pryce was given the freedom of Park Hall only to crash a shot onto the bar from the edge of the area.

The pressure finally told as Holland drilled home from 25 yards shortly before the break.

The second-half had barely begun when Draper completed his brace with a masterful header to steer home Chris Marriott’s left wing cross.

The New Zealander completed his hat-trick from the re-start by chesting Jamie Mullan’s right wing cross over the line from a yard.

With the match long won the hosts rang the changes with Kevin Kauber and Ben Clark introduced.

Cefn Druids almost capitalised with a wickedly curled free-kick from Matty Owen leaving TNS goalkeeper grateful to the woodwork on 72 minutes.

TNS continued their dominance and completed their scoring on 76 minutes with man of the match Draper on hand to complete his four goal haul

Cefn Druids reduced the arrears with a last gasp consolation with ex-Newtown star Owen placing a free-kick over the defensive wall and beyond Harrison.

However it was not enough to dampen the TNS title celebrations.

“It was a great performance,” said manager Scott Ruscoe. “The players looked like they were enjoying themselves and playing with a smile on their face.

“My only criticism was that we we tried to go into central areas where we were never going to win it. However you can’t complain too much and I’m pleased.”

TNS: Harrison, Marriott (Clark), Saunders (Rawlinson), Routledge, Brobbel, Draper, Hudson (Kauber), Mullan, Holland, Edwards, Pryce. Subs: Ebbe, Wycherley

Att - 361