Flint Town Utd 2 Newtown 2 (Newtown won 4-3 on pens)

NEWTOWN survived a banana skin on Deeside after seeing off Flint Town United on penalties.

When Alex Fletcher slotted Newtown into a third minute lead after being teed up by Luke Boundford it looked like the Robins were set for a comfortable afternoon.

Instead Flint hit back with Alan Bull forcing goalkeeper Dave Jones into action before levelling when Joe Palmer’s 11th minute corner was deflected into his own net by Boundford on 11 minutes.

A lack of composure from Bull allowed Newtown off the hook as the hosts threatened to take the lead before the Robins regained their momentum at the end of the half with Ryan Kershaw’s cross shot forcing goalkeeper Nikki Lee-Bulmer to tip over the bar.

It was a similar story after the break with Mark Jones twice denied by Jones in the Newtown goal either side of the hour as Flint looked to lead for the first time.

Newtown struggled to impose themselves and were once again indebted to Jones who parried away a fierce strike from Rob Jones as the match went into extra-time.

Newtown regained their lead 10 minutes into the first period of extra-time with a poor clearance falling for Kershaw who drilled home.

However Flint hit back with an overhead kick from Shaun Beck forcing Jones into action before the hosts snatched an equaliser at the death with a long ball from Ieuan Hewitt releasing Richie Foulkes to lash home to take the game to penalties

With Craig Williams’ penalty hitting the bar the Robins were indebted to Jones who denied Rob Jones and Hewitt before Jamie Reed converted the decisive winning penalty.

NEWTOWN: D Jones, Sears, Mills-Evans, Mitchell (Denny), Boundford (Rushton), Reed, Price (Kenton), Goodwin, Fletcher. Subs: Harries, Perry