THE Central Wales Football Association (CWFA) has named a 17 strong squad for this season's Region's Cup.

The squad was selected following trial matches across the region and will now prepare for their opening fixture on February 22 when the North Wales Coast FA (NWCFA) representative squad visit Aberystwyth Town's Park Avenue.

A trip to Airbus UK Broughon and a clash with the North East Wales FA (NEWFA) will take place on February 28.

Following the resignation of manager Clive McNamee the squad will be managed by former Aberystwyth Town and Barnsley striker Andy Evans who is also a qualified B licence coach.

Presteigne's Simon Hamer will compete with St Dogmaels' Justin Smith for the goalkeepers jersey.

Meanwhile Trewern's Zac Emberton and Barry Haralambous are joined by Welshpool Town's Ryan Evans and Llanrhaeadr's Khyam Wytton in the squad while David Laird of Kerry has also been called up.

Bow Street's Rhun Garner completes the Spar Mid Wales League contingent with the remainder of the squad selected from the Cambrian Tyres Aberystwyth League and South Ceredigion League.

Jason Williams of St Dogmaels, George Colven of Crannog and Padarn United's Paul James are joined by Lampeter Town duo Mark Evans and Christy Gale.

Newcastle Emlyn's Sam Skinner, Craig Gordon, Adrian Hazelby and Huw Jones complete the 17 man squad.

Meanwhile a four man standby list has also been named with Caersws' Jodeci Dean and Abermule's Steff Rowlands joined by Rhys Jones of St Dogmaels and Crannog's Rhys Davies.