Cefn Druids 2


TNS twice led at the Rock only for a determined Cefn Druids to hit back for a deserved point on Friday night.

The runaway JD Welsh Premier leaders arrived in Cefn Mawr looking to extend their lead at the summit to a massive 14 points.

The Saints survived an early scare with Arek Piskorski drilling wide for the hosts before TNS led on seven minutes with Connell Rawlinson heading home Chris Marriott’s free-kick.

Both sides played their part in a well contested half with Aeron Edwards’ low cross shot just wide while the plucky Druids continued to stretch the Saints defence.

A thrilling end to the first-half saw Druids level on 39 minutes with ex-Newtown midfielder Matty Owen setting up Alec Mudimu to blast beyond Saints goalkeeper Paul Harrison from the edge of the area.

However TNS regained their lead on the stroke of the interval with Rawlinson heading home his brace from Ryan Brobbel’s free-kick.

In a bizarre end to a thrilling half the Druids once again hit back with the outstanding Piskorski firing home from close range to level in the last act of the half.

In comparison the second-half proved to be less exciting with the home side soaking up the mounting Saints pressure.

However TNS struggled to create any clear openings with Jamie Mullan’s shot deflected wide while January signing Dean Ebbe also chipped wide of target.

Druids also threatened with man of the match Piskorski releasing James Davies on 68 minutes only for the ex-Llanfair United star to scuff wide of target.

The Saints introduced new signing Kevin Kauber and top scorer Greg Draper in a bid to finally break the resolve of the hosts.

TNS almost snatched a last gasp winner only for Aeron Edwards to spurn the chance and fire wide as Druids celebrated a richly deserved point to frustrate their illustrious local rivals.

Saints manager Scott Ruscoe said: “It was an off night for us but credit to Druids for their performance.”

TNS: Harrison, Spender, Marriott, Rawlinson, Hudson, Brobbel (Kauber), Routledge, Edwards, Holland, Ebbe (Draper), Mullan. Subs: Pryce, Saunders, Clark, A Jones.

Att - 374