TNS 4 Cardiff Met 0

The New Saints were crowned JD Cymru Premier champions for a 16th time following a 4-0 win at home to Cardiff Met on Saturday.

Brad Young scored a hat-trick for the second game running while Ben Clark completed the scoring as the Oswesty club strolled to a 24th consecutive victory in all competitions as they continue to close in on breaking their own Guinness World Record set during the 2016-17 season.

The Saints began on top with Ryan Brobbel forcing Met goalkeeper Alex Lang into action before Young rattled the crossbar from six yards after 11 minutes.

County Times: Action from TNS' victory over Cardiff Met.Action from TNS' victory over Cardiff Met. Picture by Brian Jones.


Five minutes later Young broke the deadlock with a calm finish over an outrushing Lang after being released by Adrian Cieslewicz.

Lang was punished when he was found out of position by Young who curled home his second of the match after 22 minutes.

The pressure continued and Clark swept home Josh Daniels' cross after 33 minutes to all but settle the outcome.

County Times: Action from TNS' victory over Cardiff Met.Action from TNS' victory over Cardiff Met. Picture by Brian Jones.

With the title secure the home side took their foot off the gas and it was not until seven minutes from time until the Saints added to their tally with Young slotting home a penalty to complete his hat-trick after being brought down in the box by Emlyn Lewis who earned his marching orders for his trouble.

The New Saints were crowned champions of the JD Cymru Premier for a third consecutive season and remain on course to complete an unprecedented quadruple.

County Times: Action from TNS' victory over Cardiff Met.Action from TNS' victory over Cardiff Met. Picture by Brian Jones.

Saints head coach Craig Harrison said: “I’m delighted we’ve managed to get over the line and lift the JD Cymru Premier trophy with six games still to play. 

“While it’s another proud moment for me personally, it’s been a fantastic effort from everyone at the club and wouldn’t have been possible without their hard work and effort. I’d like to thank all of the players, coaching staff and those working at the club behind the scenes. 

“While today is a day for celebration, the season still has a long way to go, and with two trophies left to be won, we won’t be resting on our laurels. We want to end the season with our unbeaten record intact, and also become the first Welsh side to win the quadruple.”

TNS Chairman, Mike Harris, said: “This is another historic moment for The New Saints as we are champions of Wales once more, highlighting our status as the leading team in the nation on and off the pitch. Craig Harrison has the team playing incredible football, reflected in the teams unbeaten record in domestic matches during what has been a thrilling season so far as we compete on four fronts.

“Each trophy win is as special as the last and I am delighted for everyone connected with The New Saints, from the staff, to the players and all of our supporters across the world. This is the second trophy we’ve secured during this magnificent season, but it’s far from over as we look to retain the Welsh Cup and become the first Welsh team to lift the SPFL Trust Trophy with the final just a few weeks away. 

“We will continue to raise the standards both as a club and for the Welsh game as a whole, we have another UEFA Champions League campaign to look forward to where we’ll firmly be hoping to put the country on the map by achieving our goal of reaching the group stages”

TNS: Roberts, Pask, Daniels, Brobbel, Redmond (Marriott 59), Cieslewicz (T Jones 80), Holden (J Williams 73), Clark, Smith (D Williams 59), Davies, Young. Subs: Green, Hudson.

Cardiff Met: Lang, Chubb, McCarthy, Lewis, Price, E Evans, Kabongo, Rees, J Evans (Cadwallader 88), Craven, Skiverton (Sampson 73). Subs: Haines, Bullock, Humphries, Jenkins, Williams.