THE final compositions of next season’s Central Wales League and JT Hughes Montgomeryshire League have been finalised.

The 14 club northern league will comprise of Abermule, Berriew, Bishop’s Castle, Carno, Dyffryn Banw, Forden United, Four Crosses, Kerry, Llanfyllin Town, Meifod Montgomery Town, Trewern United, Tywyn Bryncrug and Waterloo Rovers.

Meanwhile the southern league will run with just 11 clubs next season, namely Aberaeron, Aberystwyth University, Knighton Town, Llanilar, Machynlleth, Penparcau, Penybont Utd, Presteigne St Andrews, Rhayader Town, Talgarth Town and Tregaron Turfs.

The JT Hughes Montgomeryshire League is back to strength after several years of struggle following the Football Association of Wales (FAW) pyramid review which saw many clubs depart.

County Times: Action from Llanfyllin Town's clash against Waterloo Rovers.

Waterloo Rovers and Llanfyllin Town will renew rivalries. Picture by Kyran Dockerty


The league has been increased by the sad collapse of the Watson Financial Services Mid Wales League South which has disbanded due to a lack of clubs with the remaining few making the switch to the northern league.

Watson Financial Services League spokesman Alan Randall said: "It is with great regret and sadness that The Executive Committee wish to announce The Mid Wales League (South) will not run next season due to the lack of interested clubs.

"It is hoped, however, the Radnorshire Cup will continue if there is enough interest from clubs.

County Times:

"All clubs that have previously played in The Mid Wales League (South) or The Radnorshire Cup will be invited to enter 2023/24 competition."

As such the expanded Montgomeryshire League could run with as many as 16 clubs next season with border sides Four Crosses Reserves, Llanfyllin Town Reserves, Llanfechain, Llangedwyn and Trefonen facing further trips south.

The confirmed 14 clubs are Abermule Reserves, Berriew Reserves, Churchstoke, Felindre, Four Crosses Reserves, Kerry Reserves, Llanfechain, Llanfyllin Town Reserves, Llangedwyn, Newcastle, Presteigne Reserves, St Harmon, Trefonen and Waterloo Rovers Reserves.

County Times:

Several other clubs have also voiced an interest in fielding their reserve team while earlier in the year Newtown-based Maesyrhandir Football Club announced their intention to join.

However the club's plans to re-form have seemingly come to nothing.

The league will start on the Friday, August 11th and also run the Bernie Jones Memorial Trophy, Llansantffraid Village Cup, Severn Trophies Amateur League Cup, Amateur League Town Cup and MAFL Consolation Cup