TNS 1 Connah's Quay Nomads 4

MIKE Wilde returned to Park Hall to inspire Connah's Quay Nomads to victory at TNS.

The sides went into the game level pegging at the top of the JD Cymru Premier with the Oswestry side just ahead on goal difference.

What had been expected to be a cagey affair came alive inside the opening eight minutes as Wilde opened his account against his former club by steering home Declan Poole's cross.

Adrian Cieslewicz fired wide as the Saints probed for a way back to terms though the Nomads also continued to threaten with Neil Danns heading over.

Nomads goalkeeper Oliver Byrne produced a stunning save to turn away Louis Robles' headed effort on 20 minutes but the home side were not to be denied five minutes later as the in-form Ryan Brobbel drilled home.

Nomads regained the lead 10 minutes later with Wilde doubling his account after Jamie Insall headed back across a goal.

Brobbel fired wide as TNS once again sought to restore parity.

However the Nomads left the home side stunned on the stroke of half-time as Wilde turned home John Disney's cross to complete his first-half hat-trick.

The Saints' day of misery was completed on 64 minutes when Chris Marriott's header fell kindly for Insall to slot past goalkeeper Paul Harrison from close range.

The Saints rang the changes in a desperate attempt to get back into the game and with eight minutes remaining were awarded a penalty after Blaine Hudson was bundled over in the area.

However Greg Draper's penalty was saved by Byrne with the Nomads No1 completing a fine display moments later to deny Brobbel.

The New Saints FC

1 Paul Harrison, 2 Simon Spender (14 Jamie Mullan 68'), 3 Chris Marriott, 6 Jon Routledge, 8 Ryan Brobbel, 10 Daniel Redmond, 11 Adrian Cieslewicz               , 12 Blaine Hudson, 17 Ryan Astles, 18 Louis Robles (20 Adam Roscrow 58'), 19 Ben Clark (9 Greg Draper 61')    

Subs not used: 13 Robbie Williams (gk), 4 Keston Davies, 44 Tom Holland, 47 Beau Cornish.

Connahs Quay Nomads

13 Oliver Byrne, 2 John Disney, 5 George Horan, 8 Callum Morris, 9 Michael Wilde, 10 Jamie Insall (6 Daniel Harrison 63'), 12 Declan Poole, 17 Kris Owens, 11 Neil Danns (19 Craig Curran 77'), 21 Aron Williams, 22 Daniel Davies (4 John Hunt 88')           

Subs not used: 58 Cameron Darling (gk), 14 Thomas Moore, 18 Douglas Tharme, 55 Sam Rickett.