Haverfordwest County 2 TNS 1

TNS missed the chance to return to the JD Cymru Premier summit after slipping to a shock defeat at Haverfordwest County.

The Saints began life without manager Scott Ruscoe following his sacking last week with Chris Sergeant at the helm while the hosts unveiled new signing Jazz Richards.

County had the first chance on 10 minutes with Saints goalkeeper Paul Harrison forced to top Corey Shephard's effort around the woodwork.

It was Shephard who broke the deadlock eight minutes later with a powerful drive from the edge of the area after latching onto a poor defensive clearance from Blaine Hudson.

County maintained their pressure with Dan Fawcett released by Kieran Lewis to force Harrison into action on 22 minutes.

TNS settled and enjoyed plenty of possession but the home side continued to pose the greater goal threat with Ricky Watts' right wing cross volleyed wide by Danny Williams after 36 minutes.

The Saints best chances arrived late in the half with Louis Robles firing over before his headed effort forced home goalkeeper Matthew Turner into action with a fine save on the stroke of the interval.

The second-half was just six minutes old when the Saints levelled with Hudson atoning for his earlier mistake by heading home Adrian Cieslewicz' corner.

Both sides battled for supremacy with Dean Ebbe's volley forcing Turner into action with 20 minutes remaining.

Four minutes later and the home side regained their lead with Williams releasing substitute Cameron Keetch to fire a low shot beyond Harrison from a tight angle.

TNS laid siege to the home goal for the remainder of the game with Robles denied by a brave block from Watts before Turner produced another stunning save to tip away a goalbound header from Ryan Astles as they held firm and consigned TNS to a second defeat of the season.

HAVERFORDWEST: Turner, Summerfield, A Jones, Tancock, Watts, Shephard, Fawcett, Rees, Lewis, Williams, Richards. Subs: Gajda, T Jones, Pemberton, Griffiths, Keetch

TNS: Harrison, Marriott, Astles, Hudson, Spender, Holland, Redmond, Smith, Robles, Cieslewicz, Draper. Subs: Williams, Davies, Mullan, Clark, Roscrow, Canavan, Ebbe,