Cefn Druids 2 Newtown 4

NEWTOWN prevailed triumphant following a Tuesday night thriller at the Rock.

Hosts Cefn Druids hit back from a two goal deficit after Newtown stormed into an early lead.

The Robins regained their composure to regain the advantage in a frantic first-half which yielded six goals with ex-Druids Jordan Evans and Tyrone Ofori returning to haunt their former club.

Newtown led after just four minutes with Jordan Evans on target after being picked out by Nick Rushton's cross.

The Robins doubled their lead 10 minutes later with two of the returning players combining.

Alex Fletcher maintained his fine form since returning to the club in January with his free-kick headed home by Lufimpa Mwandwe who celebrated his first goal since signing in the transfer window.

Mwandwe forced the home goalkeeper Dawid Szczepaniak into action before Callum Roberts fired over as Newtown continued to dominate.

However on 23 minutes the home side were back in the game.

Ex-Robin Niall Flint slotted home on 28 minutes after Josef Faux regained possession to release Henry Brazel to set-up Flint to reduce the arrears.

The same trio linked as Druids levelled 10 minutes later with Faux crossing for Brazel to tee-up Flint for his brace.

Newtown regained their lead moments later, thanks in no small part to a lapse in the home defence, for Evans to complete his own double.

Newtown restored their two goal cushion before the break with Tyrone Ofori on target.

The second-half failed to compare to the first in terms of action.

Instead chances were sparse with Mwandwe forcing Druids goalkeeper Dawid Szczepaniak into action while former Newtown player Ryan Kershaw blazed over at the other end.

Defences dominated for the remainder of the clash with Druids unable to penetrate the visiting rearguard as the Robins saw out the game comfortably to celebrate their second win since the resumption of the season.

The only blemish on their evening was a late red card for Callum Roberts who saw red with five minutes remaining.

DRUIDS: Szczepaniak, Arsan, Green, Mooney, E Cartwright, Brazel, Flint, Faux, Kershaw, Wise, Edge. Subs: Jones, Phillips, I Cartwright, Fuller, Edwards, Pritchard, Azaimale.

NEWTOWN: D Jones, Phillips, Mills-Evans, Rushton, Evans, Ofori, Hughes, Sutton, Fletcher, Mwandwe, Roberts. Subs: Steventon, McAllister, Breese, O'Neill, Davies, Downs, A Jones