THE New Saints Football Club has applied to join the planned Welsh Women’s national first tier.

The new national two tier pyramid is set to kick-off next season.

While doubts surround whether football will even be played in this calendar year due to the Welsh Government’s blanket ban on most forms of sport since March 2020, the Football Association of Wales (FAW) has pressed ahead with plans for the future.

A total of 37 clubs from across Wales have applied for 24 spaces available in the new first and second tiers.

Oswestry based TNS are joined by Llanfair United in applying for membership.

Aberystwyth Town – the region’s leading club – is one of 15 clubs to apply for membership of the eight club first division.

The two regional second divisions will also operate with eight clubs each with a total of 22 clubs making applications.

TNS spokesman Ian Williams said: “The New Saints Ladies Football Club is managed by our Community Foundation and currently consists of two junior teams that play locally in the Shropshire League and a Youth team in the Warwickshire Ladies League

“The club recently made a strategic decision to apply for a Tier One Licence to compete in the Welsh Premier Women’s League which will be under pinned with the current teams within the club

“The club will also be advertising for a Head of Women and Girls Football, to manage the programme as well as overseeing community girls projects such as Huddle, which has a link to Welshpool Girls FC and Wildcats in Oswestry.”

Llanfyllin raised Lowri Roberts, Head of Women’s & Girls’ Football at the FAW, said: “It’s exciting to see so many clubs engage with this process and share our vision for the domestic game.

“It’s incredibly important for the growth of the game that this process is competitive in order to release the potential of our ambitious clubs to not only improve themselves on and off the pitch, but to also assist in driving forward the development of the female provision across Wales.” The confirmed applicants are as follows: Tier 1: Abergavenny; Aberystwyth Town; Barry Town United; Briton Ferry Llansawel; Caldicot Town; Cardiff Bluebelles; Cardiff City; Cardiff Met; Cascade YC; Cyncoed; Merthyr Town; Port Talbot; Swansea City; Swansea University; The New Saints

Tier 2 South: Aberdare; Aberaman; Baglan; Coed Duon Welfare; Cwmbran Celtic; Dafen Welfare; FC Talycopa; Pontardawe. Tier 2 North: Airbus UK; Amlwch; Bangor 1876; Bethel; Colwyn Bay; Connah’s Quay Nomads; Denbighn; Llandudno; Llanfair United; Llanystumdwy; NFA; Northop Hall; Pwllheli; Wrexham