Caernarfon Town 1 Newtown 1

NICK Rushton was the hero with a late equaliser ensuring Newtown a point at Caernarfon Town.
Newtown started brightly at the Oval with Rushton forcing home goalkeeper Josh Tibbetts into action in the opening stages.
Tibbetts was again on hand to deny Rushton moments later and denied Neil Mitchell the follow up effort.
Caernarfon threatened with Newtown indebted to Kieran Mills-Evans for his goalline clearance to deny Mike Hayes before the home side was denied by the offside flag.
Telor Williams’ tested Newtown goalkeeper Dave Jones with a rasping drive from distance on 20 minutes.
Rushton continued to be Newtown’s chief protagonist with his 26th minute shot once again testing Tibbetts with James Davies failing to convert the loose ball.
The home side led on 33 minutes with Sion Bradley racing onto a throughball from Darren Thomas to turn and slot past Jones.
However Newtown continued to press and five minutes later came close when Sean McAllister’s headed effort was cleared off his line by Gareth Edward.
It was a similar story after the break with Rushton and Mitchell forcing Tibbetts into action before denying Jamie Breese with 20 minutes remaining.
However it appeared Newtown’s generally dominant display looked destined to go unrewarded.
The pressure finally told with seven minutes remaining with Rushton’s endeavour rewarded with a goal after the home side failed to clear a long throw from Jake Phillips.
Caernarfon Town: Tibbetts, J Williams, T Williams, Edwards, Parker (Augustin 70), Crowther, Bradley, Mendes, Hayes, D Thomas, Kenny. Subs: French,Jones, El-Arab, Evans, J Thomas
Newtown: Jones, McAllister (Ofori 71), Mills-Evans, O’Neill, Rushton, Breese, Evans (Phillips 83), Davies, C Williams, Hughes, Mitchell (Edwards 79). Subs: Steventon, M Williams, Downs.