LLANIDLOES Town Football Club have topped an online poll to be crowned Mid Wales League club of the 1980s.

As part of a series of polls to mark the end of the Mid Wales League the County Times has delved back in time to celebrate the top clubs of each decade.

The 1980s began with Welshpool Town lifting the title in 1980.

The championship headed to Llanidloes Town in 1981 and Newtown in 1982 before Caersws celebrated the Mid Wales League title in 1983.

Aberystwyth Town toasted back to back titles between 1984 and 1985 before the trophy returned to Caersws in 1986.

Newtown won two consecutive titles in 1987 and 1988 before Caersws won their third championship of the decade in 1989.

In the polls Llanidloes Town won their semi-final with 47 per cent of the vote with Newtown ending second with 35 per cent while Welshpool Town ended third with 17 per cent.

Meanwhile Aberystwyth Town won their semi-final with 51 per cent with Caersws second with 48 per cent.

The final poll pitted Llanidloes Town against old rivals Aberystwyth Town which saw the Daffodils come out on top with 51 per cent with the Seasiders ending runners-up with 48 per cent.

Follow CTSport on Twitter for the latest news, views and online polls.