BERRIEW Football Club have been named the top club of the 1960s.

The County Times has conducted a series of online polls to mark the end of the Mid Wales League in its current format with the advent of a new Welsh football pyramid structure.

We have asked readers to vote for their choice of best club of each decade.

The series has now reached the 1960s which began with Caersws celebrating two successive titles, bringing the trophy back to the Recreation Ground in 1960 and 1961.

Llandrindod Wells lifted the trophy in 1962 before the silverware returned to Caersws in 1963.

Kington Town took the trophy over the border in 1964 before Berriew won the title in 1965 with Kington reclaiming the honours in 1966.

Llandrindod Wells celebrated their second title of the decade in 1967 before Welshpool Town ended the 60s with back to back title in 1968 and 1969.

In the online poll Caersws won their semi-final poll with 67 per cent with Llandrindod Wells ending with 22 per cent and Kington Town on 10 per cent.

Meanwhile Berriew won their semi-final poll with 65 per cent, edging out Welshpool Town with 34 per cent.

Berriew won the final poll with 52 per cent of the vote with Caersws second with 47 per cent.