Llanrwst United

Ground - Gwydir Park

Founded - 1983

Nickname - The Roosters

LLANRWST United Football Club was formed less than 40 years ago but can trace its roots back more than a century.

Llanrwst Town won the North Wales Coast League in 1899 and the following season were beaten finalists in the Welsh Amateur Cup.

The club remained in the North Wales Coast League until 1906.

The club reformed a year later and rejoined the North Wales Coast League and remained members until the outbreak of World War One.

The club rejoined in 1919/20 though resigned after one season.

The club returned to the Welsh League North in 1939 before the onset of World War Two and following several years in the Vale of Conwy League, returned to the Welsh League North in 1949 where they remained until 1957.

The club competed in the Vale of Conwy League in the 1970s with the town also represented by Llanrwst Boys Club and Llanrwst British Legion while Llanrwst Athletic were formed in 1975.

Llanrwst Town won the league in 1981 and 1983 when the club merged with Llanwrst Athletic to form Llanrwst United to become founder members of the inaugural North Wales Alliance in 1984/85.

The club enjoyed a decade in the Alliance until relegation to the Gwynedd League in 1995 and three years later reached the final of the Welsh Trophy, losing 2-0 to Dinas Powys.

The club bounced back as Gwynedd League champions in 2004 where the club remained until promotion to the new Welsh national third division in 2020.