Nantlle Vale

Ground - Maes Dulyn

Founded - 1920

Nickname - Vale

RECORDS of football being played in Penegroes begin in 1896 with a club from the village inaugural members of the Cambrian League.

By 1904 the club was competing in the Caernarfonshire League.

After World War One, Penygroes United Football Club were founder members of the Gwyrfrai League in 1922 and won the title in 1923 and remained members until 1926 before returning for the league’s final season in 1930.

Nantlle Vale Football Club was first recorded in North Wales Coast League in the 1920/1921 season and competed in the Lleyn and District League in 1939.

In 1949 the club entered the Welsh League North, winning the second division in 1953 and the first division title in 1960

Vale enjoyed national cup success in the 70s, winning the Welsh Amateur Cup in 1974 and 1975.

These were glory years for the club who entered the FA Trophy in 1973/74 and hosted Shrewsbury Town in the quarter-finals of the Welsh Cup in 1980.

However just a year later the club dropped into the Caernarfon and District League.

The club joined the North Wales Alliance for the first time in 1988 as Gwynedd League champions and enjoyed a decade stint in the division before once again returning to the Caernarfon and District League in 1998.

The title was won in 2001 with Vale stepping up to the Gwynedd League before returning to the North Wales Alliance in 2007 where the club continued to represent the Llyn peninsula.