Welshpool Town

Ground - Maesydre

Founded - 1889

Nickname - The Lilywhites

WELSHPOOL Town Football Club is one of the region's most famous club.

The club was founded in 1889 though football has been played in the town as far back as 1878 when several clubs called the town home.

Welshpool were founder members of the Montgomeryshire League in 1904 and had a brief stint in the Shropshire League.

During the inter-war period the club played in a host of leagues, competing in the Central Wales League and North Wales League before settling in the Wrexham League in the 1950s.

Welshpool won four titles with the championship won in 1955, 1957, 1962 and 1965 before returning to mid Wales.

Success continued with seven titles celebrated during a golden period for the club between 1968 and 1980 while also winning the Welsh Amateur Cup in 1972.

Welshpool were founder members of the Cymru Alliance in 1990.

The club suffered a massive 66 point deduction in 1992 leaving the club bottom having been on the brink of the title.

Welshpool recovered and secured promotion to the League of Wales in 1996.

The club narrowly escaped the drop in their first season but relegated the year after.

Welshpool were back in the top flight in 2003 and escaped the drop on appeal.

The club made the most of their reprieve and in 2006 ended an all time high sixth in the Welsh Premier.

However times were changing and with their Maesydre ground not keeping up with standards suffered demotion in 2010.

The club entered freefall with a host of managers coming and going and relegated following a 15 point deduction.

Welshpool faced extinction in 2011 only for David Jones and Neil Breeze to arrive on the scene and save the day

The club's plight earned national headlines when Sky Sports picked up on their struggles with Chris Kamara and Paul Merson turning out for the club.

Jones departed in 2013 with club legend Russell Cadwallader returning to the fold and since led the club's revival as one of the leading club's in the Mid Wales League.