Rhos Aelwyd

Ground - Ponciau

Founded - 1943

Nickname - Rhos

RHOS Aelwyd Football Club can trace its roots to half a dozen clubs.

Llanerchrugog is known to have existed in the late 19th century while Rhos Olympic, Rhos Early Crosses, Rhos Rangers and Rhos Church each represented the village.

Though the most successful club was Rhos Eagle Wanderers who won the Welsh Amateur Cup in 1898 and 1912 while a decade later the club won the Welsh League North.

The modern day club was founded in 1943 as a youth club before merging with Ponciau Alwyd Football Club in 1958.

Promotion from the second division of the Wrexham Area League followed in 1959 before lifting the first division championship in 1965.

However the club suffered a decline in fortunes and relegated to the second tier of the Wrexham League.

For the next two decades the club competed at various levels of the Wrexham League.

The club became founder members of the Cymru Alliance in 1992 before relegation in 1997.

Rhos consolidated in the Wrexham Area League before and went on to enjoy much success, claiming the title in 2006.

New manager Steve Walters guided the club to further success, winning the Welsh Trophy in 2008 and securing the title and promotion in 2010.

A remarkable fourth place finish in 2011 was followed by relegation the following season and worse followed with relegation from the Wrexham League first division in 2015.

The club secured promotion back to the first division in 2018.