NEWTOWN Ladies Rugby Club held its end of season awards last weekend.

The awards were held online due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic and Welsh Government lockdown restrictions.

Spokesman Darren Bloor said: “A special thank you’s were given to Hafren Junior School and headteacher Carl Hyde for the use of the school facilities.

“Thanks also went to Gareth and Amy of N-Mac gym for their continued support to the club with the use of equipment during training sessions.

“Thanks to President Dai Davies for his letter from the club committee congratulating the ladies on everything they’ve achieved, both on the training pitch, and for the support they’ve given to the club off the pitch.

“Dai also acknowledged Georgia Powell and Nia Rowlands who have become the first female coaches in club history.”

There were two end of season awards with the Most Improved Player and Player of the Year accolades presented.

The Most Improved Player shield went to Connie Lewis in recognition of how much she has grown in confidence since beginning her journey while Alys Phillips was named Player of the Year for her commitment.”