NEXT season represents the start of a new era for the Mid Wales League.

With the advent of the new Football Association of Wales (FAW) pyramid restructure the Mid Wales League will split into two regional divisions next season.

It marks the end of an era for football in mid Wales.

The County Times has delved back into the archive and more than 100 years of football across the region.

Over the next week the County Times will conduct online polls for readers to choose their team of each decade.

The 1980s began with Welshpool Town lifting the title in 1980.

The championship headed to Llanidloes Town in 1981 and Newtown in 1982 before Caersws celebrated the title in 1983.

Aberystwyth Town toasted back to back titles between 1984 and 1985 before the trophy returned to Caersws in 1986.

Newtown won two consecutive titles in 1987 and 1988 before Caersws won their third championship of the decade in 1989.

Follow CTSport on Twitter and vote now.