THE great and good of sport descended on Newtown’s The Hafren theatre on Friday night for the annual Montgomeryshire Sports Awards.

Llanidloes-based Hafren Dirt Bike Club star Charlie Evans was crowned Senior Sports Personality of the Year while Newtown archer Megan Costell took the under 18s crown.

Motocross star Endaf Hughes of Llanidloes won the under 14s accolade with Newtown Cricket Club’s Fyfe Davies the Under 12s Sportsman of the Year and Newtown Swimming Club’s Lucy Jones the Disability Sportsperson of the Year.

Rebecca Jones of Dragonettes Cheerleaders won the Coach of the Year award while Maldwyn Harriers Athletics Club’s Sharon Jones was named the Volunteer of the Year and Llanfyllin Squash Club’s James Smith and Ryan Lewis shared the Young Sports Leader award.

Llanidloes Town Junior Football Club was named Junior Team of 2019 while Castle Caereinion Short Mat Bowls Club won the senior award and Newtown Swimming Club was named Club of the Year.

The Powys Girls under 15s football team was presented with the Outstanding Recognition award while Kevin Morgan, Steve Cox and David Davies were recognised with Services to Sport awards.