THE annual Montgomeryshire Sports Awards will take place next week.

Stars of 2019 will be honoured at a special ceremony on Friday, January 31, 2020 at 7pm at Newtown’s The Hafren theatre.

Among the most prestigious awards is the Senior and Junior Sports Personality accolades as well as Club of the Year and Team of the Year.

The nominations have been revealed with the under 12s sports personality of the year candidates being squash player Max Short and cricketer Fyfe Davies.

Athletes Mackenzie McCourt and Aled Breeze are both up for the under 13s award along with motor sport aces Endaf Hughes and Jac Mills-Stephens.

Ryan Edwards and fellow Maldwyn Harrier Athletics Club star Ollie Jones are joined by Llanfyllin triathlete Deri McCluskey and squash stars Ben Woodhouse and James Smith in the under 18s line-up.

Meanwhile swimmers Lucy Jones and Megan Haf Thomas are both up for the disability accolade.

Motorsport’s Charlie Evans and Alan Brooks are joined by basketball player Ben Johnson-Rolfe in the senior nominations line-up.

Tayla Trigg, Ceri Pugh, James Smith, Ryan Lewis and Ryan Evans make up the Sports Leader of the Year nominations.

The awards also recognise clubs and team sports.

The junior team of the year nominees comprise of COBRA Rugby Club, Hafren Junior Cycling Club, Llanidloes Town Junior Football Club, Footloose Dance Group, Newtown Junior Cricket Club and Powys Girls Under 15s football team.

The senior team nominees include Castle Caereinion Indoor Bowls Club, Hafren Dirt Bike Club, Newtown Ladies Tennis Club, Llanfair United Ladies Football Club and Llanfyllin Squash Club.

Llanfyllin Squad Club is also among the contenders for Club of the Year along with Guilsfield Short Mat Bowls Club, Newtown Tennis Club, Newtown Swimming Club, Severn Striders Running Club and Dragonettes Cheerleading Club.

This year Alun Pryce, Karl Meredith, Chris Griffiths, Rebecca Jones, Charlotte Foulkes, Penny Thomas and Jonathan Davies are all up for the Coach of the Year award while Kirsty Benbow, Sharon Jones, Hayley Jones and Carl Gannon have been shortlisted for the Volunteer of the Year gong.

Meanwhile Kevin Morgan, Steve Cox and David Davies will be honoured for their commitment to sport in Montgomeryshire.