ALBERBURY slipped to a two wicket defeat at Pontesbury but did just enough to seal first division status for another year.

Mike Crawshaw carried his bat with a top scoring 73no and joined by Jordan Zaza in a fruitful first wicket stand.

Upon the departure of Zaza to Matt Smart (1-63) for 58 the visitors continued to work the scoreboard with Crawshaw joined by Sam Morris before the latter fell to Mike Bellamore (1047) for 65.

Crawshaw and Mark Jones (10no) pushed Alberbury to 231-2 to defend.

James Bird and Sam Morris struck early in reply before James Moss (31) and Alister Corfield (23) steadied the ship for Pontesbury.

Both fell to Myles Thomas (3-55) before the middle order stand of Robbie Hartshorn and Bellamore changed the fate of the game.

Bellamore was finally dislodged by Bird (2-49) while Hartshorn was caught by Joss Elliott off Morris (3-46) but it was too late to prevent Pontesbury’s victory.

Mark Lewis (14no) and Sam Morris (4no) combined in an unbroken ninth wicket stand to push Pontesbury to 232-8 and glory with three overs remaining.