Stenhousemuir 1


(TNS lost 3-1 on pens)

TNS crashed out of the first hurdle for a second successive season as Stenhousemuir toasted glory over the Welsh champions.

The Oswestry side wasted a plethora of chances with Greg Draper blasting over the bar inside the opening 10 minutes to set the tone.

Ryan Brobbel tested home goalkeeper Graeme Smith with the home custodian also called upon to produce a stunning save to deny Aeron Edwards as TNS were held until half-time.

TNS were punished three minutes into the second-half with Kieron Anderson nodding home from close range.

TNS continued to dominate with Kurtis Byrne and Brobbel both going close on the hour before Billy Whitehouse fired wide.

The pressure finally told with four minutes remaining with Brobbel cutting inside from the left to fire beyond Smith.

The match went to penalties and with Whitehouse and Adrian Cieslewicz spot kicks saved by Smith the Scottish side held their nerve to celebrate a 3-1 penalty shoot-out triumph.

TNS: Harrison, Davies, Harrington, Lewis, Marriott, Edwards, Redmond, Brobbel, Cieslewicz, Byrne, Draper. Subs: Dutton, Spender, Ebbe, Clark, Whitehouse.