HUGH Clarke has set his Llanidloes Town side the challenge of going one better than last season ahead of the new MMP-NL Mid Wales League One campaign.

The Daffodils go into the new season as favourites for the title after missing out on promotion on the final day of last term.

The club has retained most of last season’s squad with the exception of striker Peter Rees who has joined Caersws while Harri Clarke and Kai Evans have switched to local rivals Carno.

However arriving at Victoria Avenue is striker Dafydd Carruthers and defender Niall Coleridge with the latter arriving from JD Cymru Premier side Aberystwyth Town.

Meanwhile Berriew manager David Jones has targeted a title challenge.

The Rhiewsiders have retained the prolific partnership of Joe Haycock and Richard Davies and despite the loss of defender Rhys Stephens to JD Cymru North side Llanfair United have brought the experienced Jon Jones from Holywell Town.

Jones has also looked to add youth to his side with Dennis Bates arriving from Dolgellau and Niall Thomas joining from Bishops Castle Town.

Jones said: “I am delighted with our summer business. Our main aim was player retention and though we have lost a few I am delighted by the new signings and in particular Jon Jones’ return

“We hope to be challenging towards the top of the league and to win at least one cup and expect us to get stronger as the season progresses.

Caersws face a transitional season with the Bluebirds looking to the future with the establishment of a reserve side.

Rees will lead the line following his arrival from Llanidloes while Will Evans will look to make an impact following his arrival from Newtown.

The villagers have also bolstered with the arrival of Llanrhaeadr duo Glenn Evans and Dale Evans.

Coach Gareth Jones said: “We learnt a lot from last year. There is more pressure on other clubs this year and we’re focused on our own personal targets.”

Carno manager Chris Davies has had a busy summer with the Ty Brith club heading into the new campaign with a host of new signings.

Along with Clarke and Evans who join from Llanidloes the Greens have welcomed he return of defender Ben Richards and Steve Jones while Joe Bell and Sion Williams arrive from Machynlleth.

Davies said: “We want a better start to the season than last and hope to improve on our seventh place finish.”

Russell Cadwallader returns to the helm of Welshpool Town with Gareth Watkins and Will Thomas completing their coaching set-up.

The Lilywhites have endured a quiet summer but will once again look to be competitive this season with Thomas still leading the line.

Builth Wells proved the surprise package last season with the Lant club once again expected to be competitive under the management of Dylan McPhee who has successfully retained last season’s MMP-NL Mid Wales Cup winning squad while adding defender Adam Farmer from Radnor Valley and striker Adie Jones from Newcastle.

Radnor Valley will be under new management this season with Rob Evans back at the helm at School Lane.

Matthew Venables arrives from Presteigne with Rees Morris joining from Kington Town and Ben Warny from Hay St Marys to offset the loss of Farmer along with Elliot Williams to Newbridge.

Evans said: “ We we will be hoping to maintain a better level of form throughout the season and push the top sides.”

Llandrindod Wells have had a quiet summer but will also aim to improve with striker Darren Murphy back to fitness and joining new signing Jamil Keeza who joins from Ludlow Town.

Manager Gareth Jones said: “I am hoping we have learnt as a team from the experiences of last season and expect us to be competitive with a top six finish.”

Elwyn Edwards takes the helm at Aberaeron with the arrival of Liam Doherty the main business.

However departing are Ifan Burrell, Chris Wilkins and Oliver Farebrother with consolidation the aim this season.

Tywyn Bryncrug also has a new management structure this season with Nick Williams and Matthew Jones joint managers.

Williams said: “ We aim to improve on last season and become more consistent. We have enough quality in our squad to compete at this level.”

Bow Street will look to avoid last season’s scrape with relegation with the Magpies once again looking to its youthful side to do the business despite the loss of Matt Pemberthy to Penrhyncoch with Farebrother arriving from local rivals Aberaeron.

Kerry’s biggest new arrival of the summer was represented by a new 100 seater stand with manager Alex Cookson also bolstering his squad with the arrival of Berriew duo Ismail Ozdemir and Luke Vicker, Abermule pair Ryan Groves and Sukru Ozdemir and Rob Harvey from Churchstoke.

Llansantffraid have lost several players during the summer with Dan Hindley and Tom Gale joining Llanrhaeadr while Gus Gately and Wayne Austin have switched to Berriew with John Sheerin succeeding stalwart Ray Jones at the helm at Treflan.

Meanwhile the three promoted sides will look to make an impact.

Montgomery Town have bolstered by the arrival of Sean Griffiths and Glyn Coney from Ellesmere and Market Drayton respectively while striker Phil Jones switched from Caersws and Dewi Hughes returns following a spell at Berriew.

Manager Luke Williams said: “We have no pressure on us this season and we aim to establish ourselves and just enjoy the challenge.”

Four Crosses manager Mike Barton has challenged his side to make a mark this season with goalkeeper Adam Clewlow joining from Welshpool Town and Ben Thompson arriving from local rivals Llansantffraid.

Hay St Marys can expect a tougher test with key players Brendan Hackett and Matt James both departing.

Manager Gareth Jenkins said: “We have a very young side which bodes well for the future but we expect a tough season with two of our key players departing.”