BUILTH Wells hosts the latest round of the Jordan Road Surfacing BTRDA Rally Series this weekend.

More than 130 crews from across the country will descend on the town for the fifth round of the series, the eagerly anticipated Nicky Grist Stages.

Top seeds Euan Thorburn/Paul Beaton have won the previous four rounds and head into the weekend aiming to clinch the title.

The Scottish duo will be challenged in their Ford Focus by 2017 champions Stephen Petch/Michael Wilkinson with Connor McCloskey/Noel Sullivan starting at number three.

Builth Wells’ own Jason Pritchard, the triple British Historic Rally Champion, will start his very first Nicky Grist Stages at number seven, partnered by Phil Clarke in his North Road Garage-backed Ford Escort.

Having never completed against the cream of the BTRDA Historic crop before Pritchard will battle the likes of reigning BTRDA Silver Star champions George Lepley/Tom Woodburn in their flying Hillman Avenger.

The event is also a round of the MRF Fiesta ST Trophy, with series leaders Zak Hughes/Tom Wood of Welshpool aiming to extend their healthy 25 point lead over Bobby Mitchell/Shannon Turnbull.

This year’s Quinton MC-organised Nicky Grist Stages will be based in the centre of Builth Wells for the first time with scrutineering on the eve of the event at North Road Garage while the trailer park and a re-fuelling zone will be located at the town’s Cattle Market car park.

The rally begins at 8.30am with a ceremony at the Groe Park and service area on the Builth Wells RFC pitch while the rally headquarters will be based at Strand Hall on Strand Street.

The rally is the only to utilise the Crychan Forest this year and will be made up of eight stages and 43 miles.