THE last of the three race Rhayader 5K Series was held last week.

Brecon’s Phil Morris led home a quality field in 17.13 with the Newtown based Maldwyn Harriers well represented in the leading pack as Neil Godsell claimed second in 17.29 and Aled Breeze took third in 18.01.

Martin Copus just missed out on the podium in fourth spot in 18.24 with Deri McCluskey fifth in 18.51.

Lee Price of Builth Wells Running Club was sixth in 19.06 with Maddie Griffiths the first woman over the line in seventh place overall with a time of 19.20.

Heddwen Daniel of Cardiff Athletics Club was second woman home in 19.57 with Maldwyn Harrier Jenny Evans completing the podium in third with in 20.30.

The final standings for 2019 sees Joe Murray of Maldwyn Harriers champion of the men’s category with Maddie Griffiths claiming the female title.

Edward Gronbech of Aberystwyth Athletics Club won the men’s under 20s title with Builth Wells’ Lee Price the men’s over 35s champion and Suzanne Rowlands of Maldwyn Harriers the women’s over 35s winner.

Joanne Rees of Builth won the women’s over 45s crown with Rhayader’s Suzanne Kendrick and Maldwyn Harriers’ Paul Thomas taking the over 55 titles.

Rhayader’s Mike Warrick and Ray Sharratt tasted men’s over 65s and 75s title glory with club-mate Carol Farrington the over 75s champion while Bro Dysynnn’s Marjorie Griffiths claimed over 65s women’s title glory.

Meanwhile Murray maintained his fine form with glory in the Gregynog Trail Race last weekend.

Murray crossed the line in 28.25 for glory with club-mates Clive Morgan and Callum Morgan completing the podium in 29.52 and 30.27 respectively.

Godsell ended fourth in 30.33 with Copus in fifth in 31.36 and Breeze finishing in sixth place in 32.45.

Once again Griffiths led home the women in 34.52 to end 13th overall while Builth Wells’ Donna Morris was second in 35.35 and Shrewsbury’s Anna Bartlett claimed third in 36.07.