ROB Anderson starred as Welshpool overcame St Georges IIs by 12 runs to celebrate a first win of the Henshalls League Two season.

The omens were not promising when Welshpool lost opener Nick Davies (2) to Lewis Davies (1-27) before surviving opener Paul Chapman (29) was joined by Dan Chodecki (10) and Russell Cadwallader (15) in leading the top order challenge.

Chris Proctor carried the baton for the middle order but the remainder of the Pool order collapsed under pressure from Naz Akhtar who completed his 3-22 with Proctor caught by Allan Myatt for a top scoring 34 with Pool left to defend 166.

Myatt and Emrys Hughes opened brightly in reply before Mat McWhinnie struck with the latter caught by Chodecki (12) and replacement Abhajeet Gill caught by Chapman for just four.

Rob Anderson struck to dislodge Myatt, caught by Town Bowen for 21, and made light of the middle order to end 4-14 with St Georges wobbling.

Dennis Morris (2-33) celebrated the wicket of Fraser Watson, caught by Proctor for 23, and completed his haul with Tom Griffiths dismissed for a duck.

McWhinnie (3-13) celebrated the dismissal of Naz Ahktar (29) to ensure Awais Araf (46no) unbeaten and Wellington all out for 154 as Welshpool celebrated a 12 run victory.