Builth Wells 2 Caersws 1

JOSH Price etched his name in club history with both goals as Builth Wells prevailed triumphant over Caersws to be crowned MMP-NL Mid Wales League Cup winners.

The Bulls led inside the opening five minutes at Rhayader’s Weirglodd with Price sweeping home from short range following good work by Richie Powell.

Builth could have doubled their lead after quarter of an hour only for Tom Bethell’s penalty to be saved by goalkeeper Luke Evans.

Caersws rallied and Mark Edmonson hit the bar and Ryan Davies went close before Elliot Jones forced goalkeeper Stuart Turpin into action

Elliot Jones converting from the penalty spot after Lance Jones had been brought down in the area by goalkeeper Stuart Turpin to restore partity on the hour.

Lance Jones went close to giving Caersws the lead but Builth dug deep to force extra time.

Builth restored their lead midway through the first half with Powell once again the provider with a telling cross for Price to volley home in style.

Proud Builth Wells manager Dylan McPhee said: “It was a well deserved cup final win for us.

“I thought we were the better side on the night in a very good final where both teams have given their all.

“I’m so pleased for the players, staff, committee and supporters who have worked so hard this season and this was the icing on the cake.”

Caersws assistant manager Gareth Jones said: “Credit to Builth who gave everything and once again failure to convert our chances and defensive errors cost us.”