Caernarfon Town 1

KURTIS Byrne starred with a goal in each half as TNS were crowned JD Welsh Premier champions with a hard-fought victory at home to Caernarfon Town.

The former Linfield striker headed home Jon Routledge’s 12th minute cross to give the Saints a dream start at Park Hall.

However Caernarfon were determined the Saints would not have it all their own way and were back on terms in spectacular fashion seven minutes later with Darren Thomas skipping past Jack Bodenham before firing home from the edge of the area.

The match continued to thrill as TNS sought to restore their lead with Dean Ebbe narrowly failing to find the target from Dean Whitehouse’s right wing cross.

Ebbe continued to pose a threat and was twice denied by former TNS goalkeeper Alex Ramsay who also produced a brave close range save to frustrate Simon Spender.

TNS almost restored their lead just before the break only for Routledge’s long range effort to dip just wide of the target.

The second-half proved a much more even affair as Caernarfon continued to frustrate the Saints and provide their own attacking threat with man of the match Thomas their chief threat.

Thomas almost gave Caernarfon an unlikely lead when the playmaker burst 50 yards before unleashing a powerful swerving shot which cannoned off the post as TNS survived a 75th minute let off.

TNS were galvanised and two minutes later led when Routledge picked out substitute Greg Draper who calmly slotted home his 35th goal in all competitions this season.

Three minutes later it was all over with Routledge and Whitehouse linking to release Byrne who lifted his shot beyond Ramsey to complete his brace and begin TNS’ title party.

TNS: Harrison, Spender (Clark 53), Marriott, Bodenham, Redmond (Nembhard 64), Routledge, Holland, Whitehouse, Byrne, Cieslewicz, Ebbe (Draper 66)

Att - 412