Porthmadog 2 Llanrhaeadr 0

LLANRHAEADR made Porthmadog toil before the North Wales side secured the spoils at the Traeth.

Goalkeeper Jimmy Hayns was kept busy early on with a smart save to deny Sion Edwards while Iwan Matthews drilled wide at the other end as Llanrhaeadr threatened on the break.

Llanrhaeadr were awarded an 11 minute penalty when home goalkeeper Paul Pritchard clattered into Joe Vaughan only for the home custodian to redeem himself by denying Khyam Wytton from from the spot.

Shaun Cavanagh fired wide while Hayns smothered Iwan Lewis' effort as Llanrhaeadr continued to hold their own against their high flying hosts.

It was a similar story after the break with Porthmadog enjoying possession against a well organised Llanrhaeadr defence which restricted the hosts to long range efforts for much of the second-half.

Gruff John and Ifan Emlyn blasted over with long range free-kicks before the deadlock was broken with 20 minutes remaining.

Edwards burst down the left wing and crossed for Julian Williams to nod home at the far post to the delight of the home faithful.

Rob Evans' shot was blocked before Williams forced Hayns into action with another headed effort as Porthmadog rallied.

Mike Sharples' right wing cross picked out John on the far post who steered an accurate header across goal and into the net to seal the ponts with five minutes remaining.

LLANRHAEADR: Hayns, M Evans, Kelly, Thomas (Green 69), G Evans, Bailey, Wytton, Vaughan, Matthews, Griffiths, K Evans. Subs: M Jones, Graham.