Rising star Tom Ellwood was on fine form at Round 1 of the Steve Rowlands & Sons sponsored Rhayader Enduro Super Series (RESS) and took victory at the Atomoic Health & Fitness sponsored Jack Frost Enduro 2019.

Ellwood came into the event full of confidence following a career best result the day before at the British Sprint Championship, where he finished in second, and he took his KX450F to a clean sweep of test wins. In second place on the day was Llanidloes man Charlie Evans, however, David ‘Kip’ Herring also held his own throughout the day but fell just two seconds short of Evans’ Yamaha for second place.

In the Expert class Ben Murphy took the win on the ET James Midshires Catering KTM from Jack Cadwallader.

Cadwallader was strong from start to finish but didn’t quite have enough to match Murphys pace, holding on to second ahead of Shaun Buchan.

Only two seconds separated 4th and 5th place riders, Garin Rosser and Roger Holland. Roger stalled his bike right before the finish line and perhaps that was the 2 seconds he needed for 4th place on the day.

Matthew Harries rode very well to win the Clubman Class and also take top honours in the all new Under 19 class for riders on machines under 150cc and in the Clubman Class.

Following Harries home was Gareth Jones on his Husqvarna, just ahead of Jac George, who also took 2nd place in the Under 19 class . Third in the under 19 class went to Kris Price, and he finished 5th overall in the Clubman Class.

The Over 40 Category provided some of the tightest battles of the day, and it was Anthony Griffiths who came out on top, just 2 seconds ahead of Paul ‘Elvis’ Davies.

In the Over 50’s Jon Tarr, who travelled up from Devon, took top honours from Stephen Davies. He had a comfortable margin of victory... almost a minute and a half! Emlyn George came home 3rd!

Gemma Holtham was the best lady of the day and won the ladies category!

In the Sportsman A class Aidan Wright took the victory from Peter Bailey and local legend Danny McPhee.

Ben Saunders from Swansea was victorious in Sportsman B and had a 7 second margin of victory over Aaron Llewellyn. Third place went to Alyn Jones!

The next round of the Rhayader Enduro Super Series will take place on Sunday, April 28.