Powys will take on the best in Wales at the Welsh Schools Cross Country Championship in Brecon next week.

Athletes from across Powys secured their county best at last month’s regional qualifiers held at Newtown’s Dolerw Park.

Llanfyllin’s Ffion Suckley-Jones will be joined by Seren Pryce, Man Davies, Tirion Wilson, Enfys Francis and Tania Stephens of Llanfair Caereinion along with Bro Hyddgen’s Olivia Gamed, Newtown’s Juliette Griffiths, Welshpool’s Eva Bird and Evie Jones, Brecon’s Ella Cian and Llanidloes’ Sofia Brandon-Higgs in representing Powys lower junior girls

Calon Cymru’s Alfie Davies will be joined by schoolmate Tom Morton along with Newtown’s Max Bufton, and James Stovell, Llanfair Caereinion’s Harvey Morris and Rhys Edwards, Llanfyllin’s Taliesin Davies, Welshpool’s James Ward, Llanidloes’ Jolly Griffin and John Beddoes duo Aiden Rhodes and Niall Rhodes in flying the county flag in the lower junior boys event.

Welshpool’s Maddie Griffiths will be joined by Zoe de Zeeww, Seren Kershaw and Gwen Kuipers of Welshpool along with Crickhowell’s Lowri Prosser, Newtown’s Chloe Murton and Lucy Sayce, Llanfair Caereinion’s Caitlyn Bloor and Hannay Burley-Smith, Bro Hyddgen’s Aoife Matthews and Calon Cymru’s Rheanna Morgan-Rogers and Lexi Morgan-Rogers in the junior girls squad.

Newtown’s Oliver Jones is joined by schoolmate Aled Breeze along with Welshpool’s Callum Morgan, Fred Meredith and Harvey Gill with Calon Cymru’s Iwan Holder and Tristan Cumberland, Llanidloes duo Ollie Wozencraft and Cerwyn Hayes-Gamble, Llanfyllin’s Deri McCluskey and Gwernyfed’s Jack Organ in the junior boys squad

Calon Cymru’s Tiegan Ward along with Newtown’s Carys Breeze, John Beddoes’ Mia Barnett, Welshpool’s Dottie Evans, Brecon’s Glesni Powell, Llanidloes’ Cerys Lloyd and Llanfyllin duo Lara Burgoyne and Nancy Twigg represent Powys middle girls while Welshpool’s Deiniol Owens and Lewis Wilde, Newtown’s Sam Holwill, Llanfair Caereinion’s Jack Jones, Crickhowell’s Sam Clayton and Calon Cymru’s Spencer Davies, Sam Jones and Iwan Coyle compete in the middle boys

Welshpool’s Kate Pugh, Llanidloes’ Kate Herman and Welshpool’s Tayla Trigg represent the senior girls while Welshpool’s Dillon Gill and Carwyn Owen are joined by Bro Hyddgen’s Euros Evans and Isaac Ayers in the senior boys event.

Evans makes the trip in high spirits after being crowned Meirionnydd Running Club junior runner of the year.