NEWTOWN’S Dolerw Park hosted the annual Powys Schools Cross Country Championship last week.

Llanfyllin’s Ffion Suckley-Jones won the lower junior girls race in 15.12 and will be joined by Seren Pryce, Man Davies, Tirion Wilson, Enfys Francis and Tania Stephens of Llanfair Caereinion along with Bro Hyddgen’s Olivia Gamed, Newtown’s Juliette Griffiths, Welshpool’s Eva Bird and Evie Jones, Brecon’s Ella Cian and Llanidloes’ Sofia Brandon-Higgs in representing Powys in the Welsh Finals in Brecon next month.

Calon Cymru’s Alfie Davies won the lower junior boys race in 13.08 and will be joined by schoolmate Tom Morton along with Newtown’s Max Bufton, and James Stovell, Llanfair Caereinion’s Harvey Morris and Rhys Edwards, Llanfyllin’s Taliesin Davies, Welshpool’s James Ward, Llanidloes’ Jolly Griffin and John Beddoes duo Aiden Rhodes and Niall Rhodes in flying the county flag.

Welshpool’s Maddie Griffiths won the junior girls race in 15. 11 and will be joined by Zoe de Zeeww, Seren Kershaw and Gwen Kuipers of Welshpool along with Crickhowell’s Lowri Prosser, Newtown’s Chloe Murton and Lucy Sayce, Llanfair Caereinion’s Caitlyn Bloor and Hannay Burley-Smith, Bro Hyddgen’s Aoife Matthews and Calon Cymru’s Rheanna Morgan-Rogers and Lexi Morgan-Rogers.

Newtown’s Oliver Jones won the junior boys race in 16.44 and is joined by schoolmate Aled Breeze along with Welshpool’s Callum Morgan, Fred Meredith and Harvey Gill with Calon Cymru’s Iwan Holder and Tristan Cumberland, Llanidloes duo Ollie Wozencraft and Cerwyn Hayes-Gamble, Llanfyllin’s Deri McCluskey and Gwernyfed’s Jack Organ qualifying for the county team.

Calon Cymru’s Tiegan Ward won the middle girls event in 19.16 and will be joined in the Powys squad by Newtown;s Carys Breeze, John Beddoes’ Mia Barnett, Welshpool’s Dottie Evans, Brecon’s Glesni Powell, Llanidloes’ Cerys Lloyd and Llanfyllin duo Lara Burgoyne and Nancy Twigg.

Deiniol Owens of Welshpool won the middle boys race in 23.42 and will be joined in the county squad by schoolmate Lewis Wilde, Newtown’s Sam Holwill, Llanfair Caereinion’s Jack Jones, Crickhowell’s Sam Clayton and Calon Cymru’s Spencer Davies, Sam Jones and Iwan Coyle.

Welshpool’s Kate Pugh won the senior girls race in 20.44 with Llanidloes’ Kate Herman, Welshpool’s Tayla Trigg completing the county squad.

Dillon Gill beat Welshpool schoolmate Carwyn Owen to glory in the senior boys race in 23.24 with Bro Hyddgen’s Elinos Jones and Isaac Ayers also qualifying for the Powys squad to compete in the nationals