MALDWYN Harriers Athletics Club honoured its stars of 2018 at its annual awards night at Gregynog Hall in Tregynon.

Chairman Paul Beeson made the presentations with Clive Morgan and Lizzie Cockle receiving the overall man and female championship shields with the latter adding the female club person of the year shield to her mantle

Martin Copus received the senior men’s championship shield with Hefin Rowlands scooping the men’s over 30s award while Melissa Turnbull was the women’s over 30s winner.

Darren Jarman claimed the over 40s men’s prize with Suzanna Rowlands the top over 40s female athlete.

Paul Thomas the men’s over 50s winner and Andre Hutchinson the women’s over 50s star of the year.

Edward Davies was recognised with the over 60s men’s award with Jill Hillman presented with the over 60s women’s prize.

Meanwhile Ifan Jones was the popular choice for male clubman of the year.

Lenny Hughes was named Male athlete of 2018 while Caroline Morgan was the top female athlete of the year with up and coming athlete Dillon Gill named the under 20s male award winner.

The club also launched two new awards for commitment to Maldwyn Harriers Athletics Club thanks to the support of Jan Shanahan and Dave Manuel.

The men’s award was presented to Andrew Sherlock while Rachel Williams claimed the women’s accolade in recognition of their service to the Newtown based athletics club.