LUKE Evans was the hero as Caersws survived a scare to progress to the third round of the MMP-NL Mid Wales League Cup with a 3-1 penalty shoot out win at Borth United.

Tom Richards’ effort looked to be enough for the Bluebirds to progress only for James Davies to snatch a last gasp equaliser and force extra-time.

With no further goals it was left to Evans to save three penalties as the Caersws goalkeeper inspired his side to glory.

Montgomery Town produced the shock of the round with goals from Lee Jones, Alec Jones and Jack Williams cancelling an own goal and Josh Astley strike in a 3-2 win at Llanfair United.

Captain Dan Lewis was the extra-time match winner as Carno prevailed 3-2 winners at Llandrindod Wells.

Ryan Sims and Mike Collister goals were cancelled out by Richie Evans and Andy Evans before Lewis sealed Carno’s progress.

Llanidloes Town survived a cup fright with a 4-2 win at home to Hay St Marys.

Gareth Owen played a key role with a goal and setting up George Clarke and Connor Bird to strike for the Daffodils with Peter Rees also on target while Adie Lawford and Jack Biggs goals ensured the Saints always in contention.

Welshpool Town made light work of Abermule with goals from Will Thomas, Ed Baker, Ian Probert and Ricky Litchfield completing a comfortable 4-0 win.

Builth Wells also sealed a place in the third round with Will Cleaton netting twice and Luke Hicks also on target in a 3-0 win at Llansantffraid.

Meanwhile Aberaeron were the round’s top scorers with a 6-0 win at Dolgellau Athletic sealing their ticket for the third round.