Maldwyn Harriers Athletics Club held its awards evening at Newtown Football Club to honour its stars of the past year.

Coach Hefin Rowlands made the presentations with Carwyn Owen winning the Outstanding Achievement award while Piper Lloyd was named Clubperson of the year.

Dillon Gill and Maddie Griffiths won the respective cross country awards with Ollie Jones and Chloe Murton-Davies recognised as top boy and girl in track and field.

The junior girl accolade was won by MacKenzie McCourt with Samuel Lloyd wining the junior boy award.

The club organised a Junior Endurance Challenge which encouraged athletes throughout the year to compete in a variety of running competitions.

The winners of each age group were Dewi Bradley, Chardonnay Morgan, Ethan Horobin, Mackenzie McCourt, Ollie Jones, Maddie Griffiths, Deiniol Owen and Carys Breeze.

Meanwhile senior athlete Lenny Hughes competed in the New York Marathon and was selected to be one of the flag bearers for the Great Britain team in the opening ceremony before completing the marathon in 3:24:19.