Aberystwyth Town 1


TNS dropped points for the second time in seven days suffering their second league defeat of the season at Aberystwyth on Friday night.

The Oswestrians slipped to third in the table after Connahs Quay Nomads and Barry Town United won later in the weekend to leave Scott Ruscoe’s men chasing as their JD Welsh Premier crown continued to slip.

Aberystwyth handed TNS a warning inside the opening five minutes with ex-Saint Ryan Edwards crossing for Rio Ahmadi to head onto the bar.

TNS had to wait until the 22nd minute for their first real threat with Jamie Mullan’s low cross cleared off his line by home defender Ryan Wollacott.

However the Saints struggled to impose themselves and instead found themselves under the cosh for the remainder of the half.

Matthew Jones was at the heart of the Seasiders’ impressive display with his 34th minute free-kick forcing goalkeeper Paul Harrison into action.

Jones blasted inches over the bar following a surging run from midfield as the hosts continued to dictate the game.

TNS survived a let off on the stroke of half-time with Geoff Kellaway’s right wing cross volleyed home by Joe Phillips only to be ruled offside.

The breakthrough arrived seven minutes into the second-half with Jones’ right wing corner tapped home on the far post by fellow Park Avenue youth team graduate Lee Jenkins.

The goal set the stage for a thrilling second-half with Ryan Brobbel’s effort blocked on the line by Wes Baynes as TNS were denied an immediate equaliser.

Aberystwyth also looked to add to their lead with Phillips curling wide before Jones was denied by Harrison.

TNS should have been level with 20 minutes remaining only for Brobbel to fire wide from Simon Spender’s weighted cross.

TNS dominated the final 10 minutes but struggled to find a route through a well organised home defence.

In the last action of the game substitute Chris Seargeant’s free-kick was superbly saved by home goalkeeper Terry McCormick as Aberystwyth celebrated their first win over TNS in 11 years.

TNS: Harrison, Spender, Cabango, Nembhard, Marriott, Holland (Ebbe 55), Routledge, Edwards, Mullan, Brobbel (Byrne 80), Draper (Seargeant 55). Subs: Dutton, Hmami, Lewis, Hudson.

Att - 589