HAFREN Cycling Club is the home of two Welsh champions.

The Newtown based club was well represented at the 2018 Welsh Hill Climb Championships, held in strong winds and driving rain as Storm Callum battered Abergavenny.

However the conditions failed to deter Rebecca Richardson and Sam Holwill as the Hafren riders were crowned Welsh champions.

Richardson beat multiple British Road Racing champion Nikki Juniper of Team Echelon by a single second with her time of 15.34 enough to take the women’s title.

Meanwhile 15 year old Holwill stormed to his first national title with a near perfect ride ensuring an 11 second margin of victory over Energy Cycling rider Cyan Smith.

The teenager mastered the notorious Tumble, known as one of the most testing climbs in South Wales and part of the Tour of Britain stages, in 14.48 to be crowned Welsh Youth Boys champion.

The closest race of all was in the men’s competition with JLT Condor rider Ed Laverack beating defending champion Dan Evans by four tenths of a second.

Hafren rider Tyler Brennan was also in action with a time of 14.523 enough for 13th overall.

Meanwhile the club hosts the sixth round of the Welsh Cyclocross League on Sunday with hundreds of riders from across Wales expected to descend on the town.

The action takes place at the town’s Trehafren Field complex with racing starting at 10am and proceeding until 2.30pm.

Montgomeryshire AM Russell George will also be in attendance with the event representing the second national showpiece to visit Newtown in less than a month following the successful staging of the Wales Rally GB.