Newtown have won the 2018 Montgomeryshire Men’s Bowling League for the first time in 32 years.

Newtown held off strong competition from Llanidloes to win the title by the narrowest of margins.

Only four members of Newtown’s current team were present in the 1986 league triumph with the championship representing a first for most of the current squad.

Meanwhile Montgomery will be playing in the first division next season following their second division triumph.

Elsewhere Llandrindod Wells won the Cambrian News Rose Bowl following a thrilling final against Welshpool in Aberystwyth.

Llandrindod moved into a commanding position at 22 shots up but Welshpool dug in and clawed their way back into contention with the Spamen holding out by a single shot.

The Montgomeryshire Bowling League season has now concluded following another successful summer.

Newtown and Montgomery won their respective divisions while Berriew claimed the league cup while also ending the campaign as the Montgomeryshire Mixed League champions.

Meanwhile Berriew also won the Montgomeryshire Women’s League while Cegidfa claimed the Montgomeryshire Women’s Wednesday Afternoon League honours on shot difference from Berriew.

Montgomeryshire Men’s Bowling League One: Carno 6 Kerry 1; Welshpool 5 Newtown 2; Llanidloes 6.5 Machynlleth 0.5; Kerry 1 Welshpool 6; Machynlleth 6 Carno 1; Newtown 6 Berriew 1

Montgomeryshire Men’s Bowling League Two: Montgomery 5 Aberdovey 2; Maglona 1 Llanfair Caereinion 6; Abermule 6 Maesydre 1; Llansantffraid 2 Abermule 5; Maesydre 1 Montgomery 6; Aberdyfi 2 Maglona 5.