MONTGOMERY IIs handed Frankton IIs a fright before slipping to an eight run defeat in division one of the Henshalls Reserve League.

Neil Tuffin (3-37) included the prize wicket of George Dickin for a top scoring 55 with Charlie Kinsey (2-39), Keith Griffiths (2-5) and David Jones (2-3) restricting the hosts to 129 to defend.

Matthew Jones (48no) carried his bat in reply but Monty were undermined by Archie Dickin (6-20) and James Wigley (2-28) while the fall of David Jones to Tom Cockayne (1-19) for 23 ensured the struggling Welsh side’s dismissal for 121.

Elsewhere Alberbury IIs suffered a seven wicket defeat at home to Worfield IIs.

Only Rob Owen (16) and Preston Fletcher (13) posted double figures for the hosts with Jack Simpson (5-28) and Chris Wallis (2-11) ensuring their collapse for 88.

Tom Butler (2-26) delayed the inevitable before Piers Rouwenhurst (46no) and Will McGarry (12no) formed an unbroken fourth wicket stand to guide Worfield to 92-3 in the 15th over.

Meanwhile Craig Davies starred with bat and ball as Newtown IIs closed on the second division title with a 66 run win at home to Allscott IIs.

Davies (82) was supported by Richard Smout (46), Sam Morrus (28), Dave Wilkinson (19) and Paul Kruger (14no) in guiding Town to 219-6 to defend with Dan Brentnall (2-34) the pick of the bowlers.

Davies snared Allscott opener Richard Addison LBW for a top scoring 59 in reply and ended on 5-30 while further wickets from Sion Jarman (2-20), Morris (1-19) and Wilkinson (1-29) ensured the Sugarmen all out for 159 in the 36th overs.

Welshpool IIs tasted a six wicket defeat at Condover IIs in division three.

A bright top order was led by Matt Sherwood (41), David Whitehouse (37) and Adam Gannon (25) before Sam Brooks(2-34) restricted the visitors to 140-5 to defend.

Gannon (2-25) claimed the key wickets of Brooks (37) and Nick Cole (27) in reply but Callum Tolley (20no) and Ben Brooks (12no) formed an unbroken fifth wicket stand to steer Condover to 142-4 in the 25th over.

Elsewhere Alberbury IIIs strolled to a 107 run win at Knockin IVs in division two of the Henshalls Sunday League.

Tom Haigh (42) and Nick Williams (27) laid foundations before Oliver Corbett (79no) guided Alberbury to a massive 248-7 to defend with Matthew Tunnadine (4-30) and Simon Thrope (2-43) leading the home side’s wicket haul.

Haigh ran out Thorpe for 22 in reply before Owain Roberts (2-32) removed Joe Wilkinson (22) and Ed Roberts (2-30) bowled George Lawrence for a top scoring 44 with Ben Davies (3-4) polishing off the tail to 141 in the 32nd over.