Llandudno 0 Newtown 2

NEWTOWN booked their place in the semi-finals of the JD Welsh Cup with victory at 10 man Llandudno on Tuesday night.

The Robins weathered an early storm as Toby Jones curled over while Mike Williams headed wide from close range and lashed over from distance.

Newtown grew into the game and were awarded a 20th minute penalty when Luke Boundford was impeded by Joe Heath only for Alex Fletcher to be denied from the spot by goalkeeper Patrick Rutter.

However the Robins atoned just three minutes later with Neil Mitchell scrambling home after the home side failed to clear Fletcher’s corner.

Tempers boiled over with referee Nick Pratt booking home manager Iwan Williams for his protests of Rutter being impeded in the build-up.

A thrilling end to the half saw Nick Rushton break the length of the field only to be denied by Rutter while Robins No1 Dave Jones was forced into action to push away Toby Jones’ free-kick.

Newtown looked to have doubled their lead on the hour when Kieran Mills-Evans’ header looked to have crossed the line before being retrieved by Rutter but Pratt insisted otherwise.

Newtown defended well as Llandudno looked to make the most of their reprieve but found a well drilled rearguard in uncompromising mood.

Ryan Kershaw looked to put the tie to bed and twice went close in as many minutes.

The tie remained in the balance and with 10 minutes remaining danger man Jones skipped around Jolyon Harries only for his cross to be miscued by Lee Thomas.

Five minutes later the hosts were reduced to 10 men after Rushton was cynically taken out by Rutter who earned his marching orders to leave player-manager Iwan Williams to don the No1 jersey.

The hosts bombarded the Robins defence but with seconds remaining the tie was finally settled as Llandudno were caught out from their own corner as Rushton broke the length of the field to slot into an empty net.

NEWTOWN: Jones, Williams, Mills-Evans, Sears, Harries, Denny, Fletcher, Boundford, Mitchell (C Williams), Rushton, Kershaw (Goodwin): Subs: Perry, Cadwallader.