JD Cymru Premier

Newtown 1 
Bala Town 0

AARON Williams struck the only goal of the game as Newtown battled in the rain to seal victory at home to Bala Town in the JD Cymru Premier on Saturday.

The goal proved enough for the Robins to celebrate a sixth consecutive win as Newtown consolidated third place in the standings, just five points adrift of unbeaten league leaders and defending champions TNS.

Osebi Abadaki curled wide from the edge of the area as Bala opened the match on top but the first-half failed to produce many meaningful openings.

Bala had the better of the few openings with Nathan Peate heading wide and George Newell testing home goalkeeper Andy Wycherley.

County Times: Action from Newtown's win over Bala Town.Action from Newtown's win over Bala Town. Picture by Dave Evans.

In comparison the Robins’ toil failed to reap much reward and all too often lacked a cutting edge until Matty Jones almost broke the deadlock on the stroke of half-time only for his 20 yard rasper to come back off the woodwork.


The Robins did not have to wait long to break the deadlock after the break with Ryan Sears revelling in a more advanced position to flick Wycherley’s long clearance into the path of Williams who made no mistake.

The Robins looked to have doubled their lead on the hour when Zeli Ismael’s long right wing cross was turned back into the danger area by Louis Robles for Williams to net.

However, referee Huw Jones adjudged the ball had already gone out of play and the effort was ruled out.

Newtown dominated the remainder of the match with Ismael forcing Absalom into a diving save from the edge of the area as the hosts looked to make the most of Bala’s shortcomings.

Absalom ensured Newtown’s best efforts were frustrated as Bala’s defence became  strained with Robles released by Ismael only for the Lakesiders’ No1 to save.

Bala almost replied with a rare chance with Ollie Shannon dragging wide while Newtown had the final opportunity with Henry Cowans forcing Absalom into action.

Newtown: Wycherley, Sears, Mills-Evans, Sutton, Evans, Robles, Ismael (Cowans 78), Williams (Oswell 87), M Jones, Hughes, D Smith. Subs: Ussher, C Smith, Torry, Taylor.

Bala: Absalom, Peate, Burke, Newell, Abadaki, Rogers (Wall 84), Edwards (Malkin 61), Mendes, White, Harrison, Shannon. Subs: Nelson, Lingouba, Knight, Arsan.