Powys’ MPs have said they wish to “draw a line” after voting in favour of the sanctions recommended against former Prime Minister Boris Johnson.

Both MP for Montgomeryshire, Craig Williams and MP for Brecon and Radnorshire, Fay Jones voted in favour of the sanctions recommended by the privileges committee which found that Mr Johnson misled the house over the parties held at Downing Street during lockdown.  

Mr Johnson was further sanctioned for attacking the privileges committee publicly and dubbing it a ‘kangaroo court’.


Mr Williams disagreed with this assessment and said he respected the work of parliamentary committees.  

“I fully respect the institutions of our Parliament, and support the members of the Privileges Committee in its findings,” said Mr Williams.

“I very much hope that the report ensures a line can now be drawn, allowing Parliament to focus on what matters to the country and to Montgomeryshire.”

Many Conservative MPs abstained on the vote including Prime Minister Rishi Sunak but Ms Jones felt she had to vote on the matter.

“I could easily have skipped last night’s vote and abstained but if I had, it would have been hard for me to look my constituents in the eye,” said Ms Jones.

“Without doubt, it is deeply sad that Boris Johnson is no longer in Parliament. He is an incredible politician, possessed of enormous charm, zeal and optimism.

"He has a proud record to defend on Ukraine, delivery of the Coronavirus vaccine and making progress on Brexit where others couldn’t. But it is also fair to say that Boris made enormous mistakes.

County Times:

“Parliament commissioned a committee to investigate and its my role to uphold the integrity of Parliament and its structures.

“But mostly I voted for the report last night because I wanted to draw a line under this ghastly episode. It would be deeply wrong to choose to prolong our internal dramas ahead of the issues which matter most to our constituents.”

The vote in the house in support of the report was overwhelmingly decisive at 354 to seven.

The sanctions included a 90-day suspension for Mr Johnson, one of the lengthiest in recent history, as well as denying him the parliamentary pass, which he would normally be entitled to as a former MP.