Powys rugby international Dan Lydiate has been named in the Wales senior men’s team to face South Africa in the Test series decider.

Wales play the Springboks at DHL Stadium, Cape Town on Saturday (July 16) with the series level at 1-1.

There is one change to the starting line-up that made history in Bloemfontein last weekend with the first ever victory for a Wales men’s side against the Springboks on their home soil.

Ospreys flanker Lydiate, 34, who hails from Abbeycwmhir, near Llandrindod Wells said the stunning win was an "amazing experience" and "one I will always remember".

Speaking ahead of today's squad announcement, head coach Wayne Pivac said: “Most people had written us off before we left Wales and to be in this position with an opportunity to win this series it’s a great position for us to be in. It’s fantastic that there’s something to play for in this Test match.

“However it’s been a tough training week because we’ve been a bit banged up as you’d expect after two very physical Test matches. So to have the majority of the squad that we arrived on these shores with available is a pretty good state to be in and we are really looking forward to the weekend.

“The atmosphere on match day has been excellent. South African fans are very loud, they support their side and they let you know what they are thinking of the occasion. It’s an environment that tests you and the players have so far stood up in both matches.

“We’re looking forward to another full house and another crowd that really gets behind the occasion and makes it a special one.”

Just 17 weeks after losing at home to Italy and finishing fifth in the Guinness Six Nations Championship, Wales have a chance to sink the Springboks across a three-Test series.

Wales senior men’s team for the 3rd Test against South Africa (Saturday, July 16, KO 4.05pm BST. Live Sky Sports with highlights on S4C)

15. Liam Williams (Cardiff Rugby – 80 caps)

14. Louis Rees-Zammit (Gloucester Rugby – 18 caps)

13. George North (Ospreys – 104 caps)

12. Nick Tompkins (Saracens – 22 caps)

11. Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby – 41 caps)

10. Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints – 102 caps), captain

9. Kieran Hardy (Scarlets – 13 caps)

1. Gareth Thomas (Ospreys – 12 caps)

2. Ryan Elias (Scarlets – 29 caps)

3. Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby – 40 caps)

4. Will Rowlands (Dragons – 20 caps)

5. Adam Beard (Ospreys – 36 caps)

6. Dan Lydiate (Ospreys – 67 caps)

7. Tommy Reffell (Leicester Tigers – 2 caps)

8. Taulupe Faletau (Cardiff Rugby – 91 caps)


16. Dewi Lake (Ospreys – 7 caps)

17. Wyn Jones (Scarlets – 44 caps)

18. Sam Wainwright (Saracens – 1 cap)

19. Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys – 152 caps)

20. Josh Navidi (Cardiff Rugby – 32 caps)

21. Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby – 35 caps)

22. Gareth Anscombe (Ospreys – 32 caps)

23. Owen Watkin (Ospreys – 32 caps)