THE splendid Nant yr Arian provided a stunning backdrop for the first in a new series of midweek evening trail races last week – with Builth Wells runners taking home the main prize.

The new Red Kite Challenge Summer Series took place on Wednesday, April 20, with the aim of providing trail racing opportunities in Mid Wales for both junior and senior athletes.

At the series curtain raiser, the primary school race was the first to take place with two age categories racing just under a mile. First overall and taking the year 3 and 4 victory was Yasmine Evans of Ysgol Comins Coch. She was closely followed by Moi Schiavone from Ysgol Gymraeg Aberystwyth who won the year 5 and 6 category.

The secondary school race was run over a hilly route of just under three miles and was won in impressive style by Maddison Hughes of Maldwyn Harriers in 22 minutes 16 seconds. She was the first female in the year 7-9 category, with Llew Schiavone of Aberystwyth AC the first male home in 30m 40s. The first male in the year 10-13 category was Callum Morris of Builth and District Running Club (BADRC) in 30m 04s with Elen Morgan of Tim Dic first female in 31m 35s.


There was a strong field in the seniors race with great representation from local running clubs BADRC, Aberyswyth AC, Cerist Triathlon, Aberystwyth Uni Harriers and Sarn Helen.

The race route took the runners over 5 miles and included almost 800 feet of elevation, making for a tough race. It was a close battle at the front with Robin Woods of Builth eventually taking the win in a time of 32m 48s. He was closely followed by clubmate Phil Morris in 32m 55s and Owain Schiavone of Aberystwyth AC and Tim Dic in 33m 05s.

Welsh international Donna Morris, also of BADRC, was a dominant winner in the ladies race, finishing in 35m 42s. Clubmate Kate Jones was second in 40m 14s with local GB triathlete Emma Palfrey of Tim Dic making up the podium with a time of 41m 03s. The individual performances from Builth runners saw the club claim the overall team victory.

Male category prizes were also given to Edward Land of Aberystwyth AC (M40), Norman Biggs of Sarn Helen (M50) and Robert Sharratt of Ilkeston (M60). There were also victories for Claire Morris (F40) and Nicola Kelly (F50).

The second race in the series will take place at the Hafod Estate near Pontrhydygroes on Wednesday, May 4, with the primary school races starting at 6pm and seniors race at 7.15pm. All details can be found on