TWO Powys cricket clubs can look forward to a higher grade of competition next season.

The Henshalls Shropshire Cricket League has confirmed the composition of its leagues next season.

Guilsfield Cricket Club have been promoted to the fourth division while Llanidloes Cricket Club will play in division five next season.

The elevation is reward for the club's endeavours during the summer.

Llanidloes were once among the best cricket clubs in the county before suffering a decline and falling through the pyramid.

However the club is now very much on the up and looking forward to the next challenge.

A club spokesman said: "We are very happy to be promoted to Shropshire Division Five.

"We are aware that it will be a tough league but we are excited for the challenge ahead and also seeing everyone back at The Rec again to support us."

Meanwhile Newtown and Alberbury will continue to compete in the first division.

Newtown enjoyed a stellar campaign and narrowly failed to achieve a place in the premier league while Alberbury endured a testing summer before cementing their first division status.

Montgomery will continue to fly the county flag in the second division while Welshpool are the lone Powys club in the third division.

Bishop's Castle can look forward to cross-border derbies with Guilsfield in division four while Llanidloes join Newtown IIs and Alberbury IIs in division five.

Montgomery IIs will continue to compete in division six with Welshpool IIs remaining in division seven while Alberbury IIIs will remain in the second division of the Sunday League.