Cefn Druids 0 Newtown 5

AARON Williams inspired Newtown to storm the Rock as bottom of the table Cefn Druids became the latest victim of the star summer signing.

The former AFC Telford striker completed a hat-trick as he climbed to the top of the JD Cymru Premier scoring charts while helping Newtown draw level with second placed Flint Town United in the JD Cymru Premier table.

Nick Rushton also netted twice as Chris Hughes celebrated an emphatic victory to mark his eighth anniversary at the helm which also saw him awarded the manager of the month award for October.

Williams wasted little time in opening his account for the evening on a cold bonfire night in north east Wales.

A pinpoint free-kick from the halfway line from Ryan Edwards was met by a leaping Shane Sutton whose cushioned header into the six yard box was swivelled home by Williams after four minutes.

Newtown came close to doubling their lead after quarter of an hour when another free-kick, this time from Craig Williams, was met by James Davies who set up Aaron Williams only to be denied by goalkeeper Ryan Neild.

The Robins continued to dominate with Lufumpa Mwandwe heading a Callum Roberts left wing cross onto the bar three minutes later.

Newtown's pressure finally yielded its rewards with Rushton rifling home from the edge of the area on 30 minutes.

Five minutes later Williams netted his second of the match to ensure the Robins a comfortable cushion at the break.

Hughes rang the changes after the break with Jordan Evans, Jamie Rowland and Brett Taylor adding fresh legs and 75 minutes Williams completed his hat-trick following a corner.

Rushton completed the scoring with his second of the night following a corner with five minutes remaining as Newtown celebrated an emphatic return to winning ways and maintain their impressive start to the campaign.

DRUIDS: Neild, Buckley, Edwards, Mooney, Harry (M Williams 77), Baio, Farnsworth, Wynne (Faux 58), Agyemang, Cabral, Edge. Subs: M Jones, Vieira, Davidson, P Evans.

NEWTOWN: Jones, Roberts, Mills-Evans (Taylor 76), Sutton, Mwandwe (Rowland 69), Rushton, Davies, C Williams, A Williams, Edwards (Evans 69), Walker. Subs: Osment, Cotterill, Thomas, Arsan.