ALL Powys County Councillors are set to receive a £150 pay rise this year after a one per cent increase was agreed by a national body.

At Powys County Council’s annual meeting on Thursday, May 13, councillors were asked to approve a report by the Independent Remuneration Panel for Wales which gives them a 1.06 per cent pay increase.

The panel’s decision applies to all 22 local authorities in Wales and is supposed to reflect increases in the cost of living and earnings.

Authorities are not able to amend the nationally-set remuneration rates, but individual councillors may choose to forego part of their entitlement if they wish to do so in writing.

Head of finance, Jane Thomas,  said: “The IRPW stipulated that the increase must be applied retrospectively from April 1 unless any individual member opts personally and in writing to myself to receive a lower amount.

“There is no decision for council required at this time, those are the recommended salaries by the IRPW, I’m making you aware of the changes.”

Council chairman, Cllr Gwynfor Thomas, asked whether the meeting had to vote to approve or just note the report?

Head of legal and democratic services, Clive Pinney, clarified that they needed to approve that up to 17 senior salaries would be paid and that the members’ schedule of remuneration based on this report would be published.

The recommendations were carried unanimously.

The changes will see all councillors now receive a basic salary of £14,368, senior salaries include this.

  • Council leader, Cllr Rosemarie Harris can receive up to £49,974.
  • Deputy leader, Cllr Aled Davies can receive up to £35,320.
  • Cabinet members can receive up to £30,773.
  • Committee chairmen can receive up to £23,161.
  • Leader of the biggest opposition group, Cllr James Gibson-Watt can receive up to £18,108.
  • Council chairman Cllr Gwynfor Thomas, can receive up to £23,161.
  • Council vice- chairman, Cllr Gareth Ratcliffe, can receive up to  £18,108.