Data revealing which parts of Powys have suffered the highest numbers of deaths during the coronavirus pandemic has been published.

The interactive map, published by the Office for National Statistics, allows users to see how many people have died where Covid-19 was the main underlying cause on their death certificate in every part of Powys – and the UK as a whole.

The data reveals that the highest number of Covid-linked deaths within Montgomeryshire and Radnorshire since the beginning of the pandemic was in Rhayader and the Elan Valley, where 19 people have died after contracting the disease since last March – although Ystradgynlais is the county's worst-affected area with 38 deaths recorded.

In Newtown – which is split in two by both the ONS and Public Health Wales when publishing statistics – 14 people have died, while in Welshpool there have been seven deaths since the start of the pandemic.

Abermule, Churchstoke and Kerry is the area with the fewest deaths – one person in that area has died after contracting Covid, the figures show.

However, as local data is only available up to January, the numbers of deaths in the map will not reflect the latest trends.

In particular, patterns may not reflect those seen in the most recent case numbers, as a death from Covid-19 will be reported some time after a positive test. February data will be added to the map on 18 March 2021.

The interactive map also allows users to see how many people have died in individual months.

Here are the figures for every part of Powys:

  • Llanfyllin and Llanwyddyn – 11 deaths
  • Machynlleth and Banwy – 2
  • Four Cross and Guilsfield – 10
  • Montgomery and Berriew – 5
  • Welshpool – 7
  • Llanfair Caereinion and Caersws – 9
  • Abermule, Churchstoke and Kerry – 1
  • Newtown – 14 (9 north, 5 south)
  • Llanidloes, Blaen Hafren and Llandinam – 6
  • Knighton and Presteigne – 11
  • Rhayader, Newbridge & Elan Valley – 19
  • Builth and Llanwrtyd – 5
  • Llandrindod Wells – 10
  • Hay and Talgarth – 6
  • Sennybridge & Talybont – 10
  • Brecon – 11
  • Crickhowell – 4
  • Yestradgynlais – 38